Skip to main content

Winners of 2nd SPC


Thank you to everyone who participated in our First Annual Student Paper Competition. We had 20 submissions in total, 6 in the journal category and 14 in the conference category. We would like to thank all of the professors who offered their time and talents to judge your submissions, and a special thank you to all of the department staff who provided logistical support along the way.

presentation in progressThe 3 Minutes presentation stage of the competition was held during the ECE graduate seminar on 03/31/2017 at the Centennial Engineering building auditorium. Those students who advanced were given three minutes to present their submission and were given numerical grades in a few categories based on their performance during the three minutes. Upon completion, numerical grades for each presenter were given and the top three presenters from each category were given recognition.

awards ceremonyWe hosted an awards ceremony for the winners on 4/14/2017 at the ECE Atrium. We presented certificates to the award winners in attendance, and they also received a prize from the ECE department in recognition for their hard work and to motivate them to keep the good work going on. We concluded the celebration with a lunch served by Curry Leaf, a local Indian restaurant.

winnersHere are the winners by category:

Journal Category

1st: Xuyuan Pan

2nd: Anees Abrol

3rd: Hamide Seidfaraji

Conference Category

1st: Jonathan West

2nd: Firas Ayoub

3rd: Mustafa Salman

The event would not be a great success without the contribution of all of you; students, staff, and professors of the ECE department. We would like to specially thank Mr. Reiner Martens, Ms. Cornelia Platero, Ms. Yvoné Nelson, Mr. Charles Reuben, and the Chair of our department Prof. Michael Devetsikiotis for their continuous support to our efforts and their guidance through each step of the competition.

Congratulations to all the winners and good luck for the rest of the students through their research journey, hope to see you all in our next competition.

Graduate Students Association President

Mustafa Almashhadani